A Good Samaritan Kind of Day

Tuesday was a Good Samaritan kind of day.

Don’t you love those days?

I was blessed Tuesday with two guardian angels. Lucky me!

Midafternoon, I was in the grocery store. I had, of course, gone to get two items.

Yeah

That didn’t happen. So here I stand in line behind some very chatty older ladies, with my hands full of stuff and things shifting and falling all over the place.

Remember how I went for two things? Who needed a cart?

So there I am, arms full, in a slow lane, when this kind voice speaks up behind me. This lovely man with his cutie pie of a daughter offered to let me put my things in his cart.

Wasn’t that nice?

I decided, since the line had started moving, that I would decline his offer. I was sweet! It was just easier to hold it than to untangle all the things in my arms.

So

They ring my things up and what’s the first thing they ask? Do you have your customer card? Well, of course I didn’t…I only went in for two things, remember?

So the lovely man with his cutie pie of a daughter standing behind me offered me his card. He saved me $3!

I know it doesn’t seem like much, but I was touched!

It was Tuesday. Tuesday is yoga day. I love yoga day!

So I twisted, and breathed, and was still.

It was a great session.

Then

On the way home, lights started flashing and there was this ominous flumping sound. If you don’t know what a flumping sound is, you’ve never had a flat tire.

Let me set the stage

I’m with my 82 year old father (who, by the way, had just finished a yoga class!).

My 82 year old Daddy getting his yoga on!

My 82 year old Daddy getting his yoga on!

It is about 40 degrees and very windy outside.

It was almost dark.

I told my daddy to pull over…because I always know what needs to be done, right?

He didn’t want to pull over on the four-lane highway, so we limped along until we go to a gas station. We hoped we could just put a little air in the tire and be on our merry way.

Oh no

Since we had driven on the tire, it was completely shredded. Plus, it had a giant hole in it that looked like it was made with a railroad spike.

So

We had to have it changed. I thought of who I could call. My boyfriend was still at work. My sisters were too far away. So that left my brother. I had the phone in my hand to call him…and that’s when our guardian angel drove up.

Let’s call him…

Matt

…because that’s his name.

He pulled up in a crew cab truck and got out in a mechanics uniform.

He said he saw as we were turning into the station that our tire was flat and he wanted to make sure we knew it.

He left his warm truck and changed that tire, because daddy and I were really clueless and he knew it.

He laughed and smiled and talked the whole time.

We met his wife, who had on scrubs. I’m guessing she’s a nurse or medical assistant or surgical technician or something similar.

They were lovely people.

They would not let us pay them.

They said to give that money to someone who needed it.

I was overwhelmed by the kindness of these two strangers. All they got for their trouble and time was a hug and a handshake.

Matt

If you see this, we are going to give that money to someone who needs it.

I wish we knew your last name and address so they could send you a thank you note.

Matt

You and the nice gentleman at the grocery store restored my faith in mankind.

Now I know that there are truly kind, caring, unselfish people out there.

Thank you so much. You are appreciated more than you will ever know.

Luke 10: 25 – 37

Behold, a certain lawyer stood up and tested him, saying,

“Teacher, what shall I do to inherit eternal life?”

He said to him, “What is written in the law? How do you read it?”

He answered, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your strength, with all your mind; and your neighbor as yourself.”

He said to him, “You have answered correctly. Do this, and you will live.”

But he, desiring to justify himself, asked Jesus, “Who is my neighbor?”

Jesus answered, “A certain man was going down from Jerusalem to Jericho, and he fell among robbers, who both stripped him and beat him, and departed, leaving him half dead. By chance a certain priest was going down that way. When he saw him, he passed by on the other side. In the same way a Levite also, when he came to the place, and saw him, passed by on the other side. But a certain Samaritan, as he travelled, came where he was. When he saw him, he was moved with compassion, came to him, and bound up his wounds, pouring on oil and wine. He set him on his own animal, and brought him to an inn, and took care of him. On the next day, when he departed, he took out two denarii, and gave them to the host, and said to him, ‘Take care of him. Whatever you spend beyond that, I will repay you when I return.’ Now which of these three do you think seemed to be a neighbor to him who fell among the robbers?”

He said, “He who showed mercy on him.”

Then Jesus said to him, “Go and do likewise.”

I think I will.

3 thoughts on “A Good Samaritan Kind of Day

  1. Pingback: No Particular Place to Go | Kudzu and Romance

Leave a Reply

