Negativity and the Internet

Negativity is an insidious thing.

It is an evil that has to be battled constantly or it will overtake your life.

Now

I love FaceBook and the internet.

I think FaceBook is a great place to catch up with old friends, find support groups and play games. I’ve whiled away many hours playing Candy Crush.

I have used search engines to look up everything from pictures of purple dragons to my family genealogy.

But

The other side is the anonymity of it…how very easy it is to hide behind keyboards and doors.

I allowed myself to get sucked into that evil side the last couple of weeks.

See…

This is a hard time of year for me. It’s the time of year my niece died. My family has always relied on my mother to get us through these tough times. We don’t have her this year.

That made it hard.

So

I’m in this bad place…sad about my niece, missing my mother…and I let myself get sucked into the vortex of a “discussion” page.

It made me feel worse.

It made me feel defensive.

It made me say things that were better left unsaid.

I realized that this was not who I am.

More importantly

It’s not who I want to be.

Today on Breathe Day

I decided to inhale good, positive, uplifting thoughts.

I decided to exhale the negative thoughts.

Let’s do it

Breathe in…

Breathe out…

I feel better already.

I made a decision today to be positive.

It won’t be easy. It will be hard to forget some of the things that were said about me. I will forget to breathe and I will get upset.

But

Then I will remember.

And everything will be better.

Picasso Dove

Picasso Dove

peace.

it does not mean to be in a place

where there is no noise,

trouble or hard work.

it means to be in

the midst of those things and still

be calm in your heart.

2 thoughts on “Negativity and the Internet

  1. Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Today I will try to be a better person. Today I will try to be a happier person. Today I will see the beauty before me; the sun, the blue sky, the bird sitting in the tree, instead of complaining about trivial things like the weather. Today will be today…………

Leave a Reply

