Hello there!

WHEW!

It has been one month since my sweet niece got married! I have SO much to tell you.

But

Not today.

I was going to tell you about it. I swear.

But

I got distracted.

I have been obsessed with audio books lately. At first, I felt like I was cheating. I mean really…I can’t read my own book?

Then I heard something from one of my favorite writers: Stephen King.

Stephen King is one of my heroes. But that’s another blog.

He suggested that by listening to a book, you actually hear/read

Every. Single. Word.

Think about when you read. Do you skim over some parts? Speed read? I know I do. I’ve caught myself going back and re-reading parts because I read over it so fast, I missed important parts.

When you listen to a book, you hear/read

Every. Single. Word.

So

I’m obsessed with audio books. Love them. I’ve listened to dozens in the past year.

Right now, I am listening to On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King. The great thing about this book is that it is narrated by Stephen King himself…nasally Maine accent and all.

It’s an amazing conglomeration of autobiography, how-to book and “how I did it” book. And it is fascinating.

If I could have any talent in the world, I think I would want to be a writer. I mean, a real writer.  A great novelist. Like Stephen King. I know he’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but he certainly is mine.

And that brings me to the topic of this blog.

In On Writing, King stresses that you must have a reader in mind when you write…your Ideal Reader (IR). You write for your IR and don’t worry about everyone else.

Because

If you please your IR, you will please your audience.

What an awesome concept. Don’t try to please everyone. Just please THE one. Or ones, in my case.

I started thinking about this blog and I started thinking about who my IR is.

I realized I have several, specific Ideal Readers.

My nieces.

My sisters.

And two of my great friends. We’ll call them

Candi.

And

Cherry.

‘Cause that’s their names.

So…when I write my blog, I have six Ideal Readers in mind. I feel like if I please them, then my target audience will be pleased.

These women are smart. And funny. And supportive. And tough. And I love them all dearly.

I know I will never be the

NEXT STEPHEN KING

That’s okay. He’s the only one we need. I would like to be a better writer, though, even if it’s just for my blog.

So

My goal for the next year or so is to become a better writer…to please my Ideal Readers.

How’d I do, ladies?

Oh yeah…

I also have set a goal to write at least 500 words a day. Today, I’m at about 515.

(Tomorrow, I will fill you in on “The Big Day” or “How I survived my niece’s wedding with a little moonshine and a lot of love”.)

Who is your favorite author? Leave me a comment!

(3/600. #110 on the list.)

Leave a Reply

